First ever portrait

Where poets, painters, photographers and other artists can mingle.
Pauline
Preponderant Poster
Preponderant Poster
antispam: no

Thu Nov 02, 2017 10:21 pm

mason.jpg
mason.jpg (106.58 KiB) Viewed 2710 times
Pauline
Preponderant Poster
Preponderant Poster

Thu Nov 02, 2017 10:27 pm

This is my first attempt at ever doing a portrait.
A 90x90cm pallete knife attempt.
I was hoping to capture the wonder in his eyes.
:)
JJWilliamson
Perspicacious Poster
Perspicacious Poster

Fri Nov 03, 2017 8:33 am

Oh, you've certainly done that, Pauline.

What a size it must be, with the head filling the canvas. Tremendous, I'd say.

I'd have to see the original pic' to tell if the eyes, nose and mouth are correctly aligned, but it's still a great painting.
I'd expect the lines to converge rather than diverge. But, the angle isn't very oblique so the convergence would be slight.
You have a significant divergence, which suits expressionism very nicely, and that's why I'm hesitant over commenting.
It's a feeling based on my own studies, so any further thoughts would be most welcome.

It's very expressionistic. Google expressionistic portraiture and you'll see what I mean.

This has such life and vibrancy. Really eye-catching portrait.

Best

JJ
Long time a child and still a child
Pauline
Preponderant Poster
Preponderant Poster

Thu Nov 09, 2017 10:44 pm

JJWilliamson wrote:Oh, you've certainly done that, Pauline.
Yay. Cheers JJ. :)
90x90 cm is a fabulous size canvas.
Large enough to make an impact but not too large to house.
Pretty much most of my paintings are this size.
JJWilliamson wrote: I'd have to see the original pic' to tell if the eyes, nose and mouth are correctly aligned,
I aint showing you. I have added at least 5 years onto the boy. :)
It was never about an accurate portrait but capturing an emotion.
I'd like to think I did this.