I have done it again.

If you're new to the forum and want to introduce yourself, this is the place.
birdboy

Fri Dec 28, 2018 9:29 am

Lady Lazarus
I have done it again.
One year in every ten
I manage it——
Hello everyone,

I am a university student in India. Until a few years ago I used to read and write poetry, except, I struggled with intonation and other poetic devices (and I still do). Being worried that I could not derive the same enjoyment out of reading poems as others did, I tried to understand and apply poetic devices but failed. So if reading poetry was like having bread, I imagined poets to derive joy by identifying the seasonings and appreciating the softness of the loaf while I stood in a corner with a damn dry bread. So I set aside eating bread/poetry for a while.

However, I still want to derive joy from reading poems and I've decided to renew my efforts. I'll look forward to reading a lot of the poems posted on this forum and by reading the critiques posted on threads I will be able to understand poetry better. Initially, I will be able to offer only my view on the poems and I am still apprehensive about posting poetry here because I'll be very bad at it. However, I will practice writing poetry and take notes from the critiques posted while also giving my honest opinion on the poems posted.

A lot of times I've come across this quotation by Emily Dickinson- "If I read a book and it makes my whole body so cold no fire can warm me I know that is poetry. If I feel physically as if the top of my head were taken off, I know that is poetry. These are the only way I know it. Is there any other way?” and I've always wanted to experience this. Or maybe there is another way. I don't know. Again, hello everyone!
David

Fri Dec 28, 2018 2:16 pm

Hello birdboy, and welcome.